Great Britain have named their team for the World Championship Division I Group A which gets under way on home ice in Nottingham on Saturday.

There are three new faces in the squad with defencemen Nathanael Halbert and Sam Ruopp, as well as forward Johnny Curran, set to to make their World Championship debuts.

Forward Cam Critchlow is the final player to be released from the roster.

Assistant Coach, Chuck Weber, said:  “This has been one of the toughest selections ever for the coaching staff.

“We had to cut many quality players from the roster but that shows the position of strength we are in.

“As the others before him on Tuesday night, Cam took the news graciously and wished the rest of the guys every success.

“We believe we have a very strong squad which can give us the best possible chance of promotion back to the top division.

“This is going to be a very special tournament on home ice and the boys are focused on what they need to achieve.”

Great Britain, Italy, Lithuania, Korea, Poland and Romania will do battle in the 2023 IIHF WMIA with the top two sides being promoted to the 2024 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship in Czechia.

GB begin their campaign under way on Saturday against Korea (7:30pm).

Visit to buy tickets. 


Ben Bowns
Jackson Whistle
Jordan Hedley (emergency reserve)

Nathanael Halbert
Sam Jones
Evan Mosey
Ben O’Connor
David Phillips
Mark Richardson
Sam Ruopp
Josh Tetlow

Ollie Betteridge
Johnny Curran
Robert Dowd
Mike Hammond
Liam Kirk
Robert Lachowicz
Ben Lake
Matthew Myers
Cade Neilson
Brett Perlini
Jonathan Phillips
Josh Waller