GB Men Name 37 Man Long-List Squad

Great Britain head coach Pete Russell has named a 37-man long-list squad for April’s World Championship in Zagreb.

The squad will be cut to 28 for the pre-World Championship training camp which will get under way on 6th April 2016 and will include two games against Poland, taking place at the National Ice Centre in Nottingham and Coventry’s Skydome.

A final 23-man squad for the World Championship will be named after the two games against Poland.

GB will face hosts Croatia in the Division 1B tournament from 17th to 23rd April, as well as Estonia, Lithuania, Romania and Ukraine.

Russell said: “We have some exciting names on this list and I like the look of our squad.

“There really is big competition for the final 23 spots to go to Croatia, but the door is open for all the 37 players

“We need to have the right balance from top to bottom on the final roster.

“We need guys with good offence, powerplay guys, players who are effective on the penalty kill and that needs to be spread throughout the team.”

GB’s international challenge matches against Poland will take place at the National Ice Centre on Saturday 9th April and the Skydome on Sunday 10th April.

To buy tickets for GB against Poland at the National Ice Centre in Nottingham on Saturday 9th April, visit the NIC box office in person, log on to the National Ice Centre or telephone 0843 373 3000.

To buy tickets for GB against Poland at the Skydome in Coventry, visit the Skydome box office in person, log on to the website or call 02476 630 693.

Stephen Murphy (N/M) – Belfast Giants
Jonathan Boxill – Belfast Giants
Mark Garside – Belfast Giants
Craig Peacock – Belfast Giants
Colin Shields – Belfast Giants
Zach Sullivan – Braehead Clan
Ben Davies – Braehead Clan
Matt Haywood – Braehead Clan
Mike Will (N/M) – Cardiff Devils
Ben Bowns (N/M) – Cardiff Devils
Josh Batch – Cardiff Devils
Mark Richardson – Cardiff Devils
Ashley Tait – Coventry Blaze
Ross Venus – Coventry Blaze
Russell Cowley – Coventry Blaze
Craig Moore – Dundee Stars
Joey Lewis – Heilbronner Falken
Matty Davies – Manchester Storm
David Phillips – Manchester Storm
Paul Swindlehurst – Manchester Storm
Jordan Cownie – Milton Keynes Lightning
James Griffin – Milton Keynes Lightning
Lewis Hook – Milton Keynes Lightning
David Clarke – Nottingham Panthers
Robert Farmer – Nottingham Panthers
Robert Lachowicz – Nottingham Panthers
Steve Lee – Nottingham Panthers
Evan Mosey – Nottingham Panthers
Matthew Myers – Nottingham Panthers
Sam Oakford – Nottingham Panthers
Robert Dowd – Sheffield Steelers
Luke Ferrara – Sheffield Steelers
Ben O’Connor – Sheffield Steelers
Jonathan Phillips – Sheffield Steelers
Stevie Lyle (N/M) – Swindon Wildcats
Jonathan Weaver – Telford Tigers
Thomas Murdy (N/M) – Telford Tigers