Russell Names First GB Squad

Great Britain head coach Pete Russell has announced his first national-team squad ahead of April’s World Championships in Eindhoven and two international fixtures against Poland.

The squad of 31 will be reduced to a final 23-man team in approximately two weeks.

Coventry’s Russell Cowley earns a recall to the squad and is joined by Belfast’s Craig Peacock, who missed the 2014 World Championship in Lithuania through injury.

Matty Davies and David Clarke are both unavailable for this year’s championship because of long-term injuries.

Former GB Under-20 stars Josh Batch, James Griffin, Matt Haywood, Tom Murdy, Sam Oakford, Jack Prince, Joey Lewis and Liam Stewart are all included – and will be looking to win their first full Great Britain caps.

Nottingham’s Jonathan Boxill will also be seeking a call-up to the final team, having last represented GB at under-18 level.

Dundee Stars duo of Chris Blight and Sam McCluskey are both named in the squad and will be aiming to secure their first GB caps at any level.

Russell said: “Over the last three or so months we have watched a lot of hockey across the leagues and been in contact with lots of different hockey people in the UK, mainland Europe and USA.

“We have the final 31 and it’s the right players and people. They all deserve their place and it’s an exciting group to look at.

“The competition for the final 23 hots up now and that can only be good for every player, as well as each team at this important stage of the season.

“People say it’s a tough job, yes it is, but it’s a great problem as a coach to have good players to select from.

“As the clock ticks down I get more excited each day till April and Eindhoven.”

GB play back-to-back international games against Poland at the National Ice Centre in Nottingham on Thursday 9th April and at the Coventry Skydome a night later.

They then travel to Eindhoven for the World Championship (Division 1B) where they face hosts Netherlands, along with Croatia, Estonia, Lithuania and Korea, from 13th to 19th April.


GB Initial 31-Man Squad
Josh Batch – Cardiff Devils
Chris Blight – Dundee Stars
Jonathan Boxill – Nottingham Panthers
Ben Bowns – Cardiff Devils
Russell Cowley – Coventry Blaze
Ben Davies – Braehead Clan
Robert Dowd – Sheffield Steelers
Robert Farmer – Nottingham Panthers
Mark Garside – Belfast Giants
James Griffin – Coventry Blaze
Matt Haywood – Braehead Clan
Robert Lachowicz – Nottingham Panthers
Stephen Lee – Nottingham Panthers
Joey Lewis- EC Bad Tolz
Stevie Lyle – Swindon Wildcats
Sam McCluskey – Dundee Stars
Tom Murdy- Telford Tigers
Stephen Murphy – Belfast Giants
Matthew Myers – Cardiff Devils
Sam Oakford – Nottingham Panthers
Ben O’Connor – Sheffield Steelers
Craig Peacock – Belfast Giants
David Phillips – Belfast Giants
Jonathan Phillips – Sheffield Steelers
Jack Prince – University of Alabama-Huntsville
Mark Richardson – Cardiff Devils
Colin Shields – Belfast Giants
Liam Stewart – Spokane Chiefs
Paul Swindlehurst – Dundee Stars
Ashley Tait – Coventry Blaze
Jonathan Weaver – Telford Tigers