GB U18 Women Name Training Camp Squad

Great Britain U18 Women have named a preliminary squad for camps in October and November, ahead of January’s IIHF World Championship tournament.

A camp was held in Widnes last weekend and 31 names have been selected for upcoming camps in Dumfries in October and Widnes in November.

The GB youngsters will travel to Poland for the six-team World Championship Division 1 Qualification tournament from 19th to 25th January 2015.

As well as facing the hosts Poland, GB will take on China, Denmark, Kazakhstan and Italy.

Head coach, Sean Alderson, said: “Having invited 50 players to our initial two trials, we invited 35 players to our camp at Widnes last weekend.

“It was an excellent camp. The commitment and effort shown by the players was exceptional.

“As part of the one-day camp, we put all the players through a series of off-ice tests and it was very pleasing to note that the average test scores were up from this time last year.

“Having introducing the off-ice tests into our programme several seasons ago, it is great to see that the players commitment and attitude towards their off-ice fitness continues to improve.

“The fact we still have several players within the full GB Women training squad is testament to that.

“Over the past couple of years we have seen the mentality of the players change with regards to their off-ice fitness. This can only be a good thing for the GB Women’s programme as a whole.

“The camps in Dumfries and Widnes will now be used to finalise the team and reserves for the World Championship tournament in Poland in January.”

The squad is listed below…

Molly Brooks (Nottingham)
Rebecca Egerstrom (Cardiff)
Molly Mugodhi (Lee Valley)
Holly Steeples (Nottingham)
Isobel Wallace (Peterborough)

Bethany Barwell (Kingston)
Kaitlyn Butterfield (Whitley Bay)
Sophie Emmanuel (Swindon)
Hannah Gibson (Bradford)
Lucy Kendall (Nottingham)
Beatrice Lester (Milton Keynes)
Beth Milne (Kirkcaldy)
Susanna Pearson (Nottingham)
Abbie Sylvester (Chelmsford)
Casey Traill (Whitley Bay)

Clara Ashton (Manchester)
Louise Beresford (Slough)
Carla Clark (Kingston)
Lucy Chisholm (Whitley Bay)
Abigail Culshaw (Bradford)
Shannon Douglas (Ontario Hockey Academy, Canada)
Reagan Downing (Sheffield)
Terasa Epps (Slough)
Lucy Gruber (Invicta)
Kimberley Lane (Peterborough)
Katerina Lossnitzer (Slough)
Chloe Matthews (Blackburn)
Ruth McCutcheon (Solway)
Milan Overton (Milton Keynes)
Mariah Spare (Coventry)
Jessica Urquhart (Nottingham)